Schedule

Day 0 - 06/14/2011 |Day 1 - 06/15/2011 | Day 2 - 06/16/2011 Print
Last updated on 01/28/2012
7:30am
Registration opens



8:45am
Welcome to #140conf NYC 2011


Participants:
Jeff Keni Pulver (@jeffpulver) - founder & curator, #140conf events

9:00am
The continued evolution of the real-time web



Participants:
John Borthwick (@Borthwick) - CEO, betaworks

9:10am
"Seeing" Your Audience



Participants:
Gilad Lotan (@gilgul) - VP R&D, SocialFlow

9:20am
Curation in the State of NOW



Participants:
Steve Rosenbaum (@magnify) - CEO, Magnify

9:30am
The Pursuit of Everything



Participants:
AJ Leon (@ajleon) - Chief Maker of Trouble, Pursuit of Everything
Melissa Leon (@melissaleon) - Director of Education @osCharity. Creator of #twitterkids.

9:40am
Don't Touch My Junk: Who Owns This Social Media Stuff Anyway?



Participants:
Glenn Manishin (@glennm) - Partner, Duane Morris LLP

9:50am
Social Experience Design: Taking NOW to the streets and store isles



Participants:
Peter Corbett  (@corbett3000) - CEO of iStrategyLabs

10:00am
To affect change by facilitating prayer: The story behind @TheKotel



Participants:
Alon Nir (@TheKotel) - founder, Tweet Your Prayers

10:10am
Tweeting for Toddlers: Why Sesame Street Tweets



Participants:
Dan Lewis (@sesamestreet) - Director of New Media Communications @sesamestreet.

10:20am
Twitter is Fast News, but We Also Need Slow News



Participants:
Dan Gillmor (@dangillmor) - A life in media — music, newspapers, online, books, investing and education.

10:30am
Q&A with Andy Carvin



Participants:
Andy Carvin (@acarvin) - Senior strategist at NPR
Jennifer Preston (@NYT_JenPreston) - Writer, New York Times

10:40am
Catching up with Tim Armstrong



Participants:
Tim Armstrong (@timarmstrongaol) - CEO, AOL

10:50am
Online philanthropy and large scale social change



Participants:
Craig Newmark (@craignewmark) - founder, Craigslist

11:00am
From "Dutch tweet" to "Dutch Treat"



Participants:
Gaby Zwaan (@gaby407) - Artist
Jeffrey Hayzlett (@JeffreyHayzlett) - Author, ex-CMO Kodak

11:10am
The Myth of the Public Internet



Participants:
Andrew Rasiej (@Rasiej) - Founder Personal Democracy Forum; Chairman NY Tech Meetup

11:15am
Conversation with Cory Booker



Participants:
Andrew Rasiej (@Rasiej) - Founder Personal Democracy Forum; Chairman NY Tech Meetup
Cory Booker (@CoryBooker) - Mayor of Newark, New Jersey

11:25am
The use of social media to overturn entrenched political power structures around the world



Participants:
Andrew Rasiej (@Rasiej) - Founder Personal Democracy Forum; Chairman NY Tech Meetup
Joe Trippi (@JoeTrippi) - Fmr Dean Campaign Mgr; Author of The Revolution Will Not Be Televised

11:35am
Creating Meaningful Connections



Participants:
Robert LoCascio (@LivePerson) - Founder & CEO

11:45am
Creating Revolutions



Participants:
Ja-Nae Duane (@TheSunQueen) - Strategist; Founder of Wild Women Entrepreneurs

11:55am
How I made Chuck Norris Popular Again



Participants:
Ian Spector (@IanJSpector) - Entrepreneur, Bestselling humorist/creator of Chuck Norris Facts

12:05pm
Catching up with Funny or Die



Participants:
Starzan (@Starzan) - VP Marketing, Funny or Die
Tijuana Jackson (@tijuanajackson) - Ex-convict turned professional speaker; Lifecoach

12:15pm
10 minutes with Tijuana Jackson



Participants:
Tijuana Jackson (@tijuanajackson) - Ex-convict turned professional speaker; Lifecoach

12:25pm
#NowWhat? The Next Step in the Journey to Humanize and Socialize Brands



Participants:
Eric Weaver (@Weave) - VP Digital Strategy and evANTgelist, Ant's Eye View

12:35pm
Medicine & Social Media



Participants:
Krupali Tejura, m.d. (@krupali) - Radiation Oncologist

12:45pm
Journalism in the State of Now



Participants:
Ann Curry (@AnnCurry) - Cohost of NBC's Today Show and host of Dateline NBC

1:00pm
Intermission



2:00pm
Creating authentic learning experiences for kids using online global connections



Participants:
Hadley Ferguson (@hadleyjf) - Middle School History teacher, Teaching with Primary Sources Mentor Advisor for the Library of Congress.
JP Toto (@jptoto) - VP of Application Development, Cognis IT
Kim Sivick (@ksivick) - Coordinator of Lower School Technology at a Philadelphia K-12 all boys school
Patrick Higgins (@pjhiggins) - Supervisor of Humanities

2:15pm
Growing up in Real-Time



Participants:
Michael Matias (@Michael_Matias) - Student

2:25pm
College in Real-time



Participants:
Anthony Rotolo (@rotolo) - Professor, Syracuse University

2:35pm
My campaign against corporal punishment in public schools.



Participants:
Marc Ecko (@MarcEcko) - founder, Marc Ecko Enterprises

2:45pm
Real-Time News Reporting



Participants:
Brian White (@BrianKOLD) - Reporter, KOLD Tucson, On-Air Online
Jessica Northey (@JessicaNorthey) - Founder/CEO of Finger Candy Media
Sarah Austin (@pop17) - Video editor, tech geek, film buff, senior wilderness explorer and sister blogger.
Sean Gardner (@2morrowknight) - Author, SM Correspondent

3:00pm
Future of Story Telling



Participants:
Andy Dixon (@andydixn) - ex-con with convictions
Brett Henley (@bretthenley) - "weaver"
Geo Geller (@geogeller) - Weaves straw into gold - image maker, Humanitarian

3:15pm
Q&A with Dennis Crowley



Participants:
Adam Ostrow (@adamostrow) - Editor-in-Chief, Mashable
Dennis Crowley (@dens) - co-founder, Foursquare

3:30pm
TV and the Real-time Web



Participants:
Brad Wyman (@bradwyman) - Director of Programming of WyTv

3:40pm
Branding 3.0. Leveraging The Power of



Participants:
Hank Wasiak (@hankwasiak) - Author. TV Host. Teacher. Partner - The Concept Farm

3:50pm
Now is your Brand?



Participants:
Jay Ehret (@themarketingguy) - Chief Officer of Awesomeness, The Marketing Spot

4:00pm
Music Artists and the Real-time Web



Participants:
Angela Yee (@angelayee) - The Breakfast Club, Power 105.1
DJ Khaled (@TheRealDJKhaled) - Music Artist
Leslie Hall (@dollyhall) - President, ICED Media (moderator)
Xavier Jernigan (@XavierJernigan) - Sony/Epic Records

4:20pm
How to Win the Popularity Contest by NOT Being Popular



Participants:
Gigi Belmonico (@GigiBelmonico) - Image Expert, Glamour Girl and Bombshell Coach

4:30pm
What if Ross and Rachel were Facebook Friends?



Participants:
Maria Avgitidis (@TheDateCoach) - Matchmaker & Dating Coach, Agap Match

4:40pm
From "I read it for the articles" to "I follow for the tweets"



Participants:
Matt Gibbs (@gibbs12) - Manager - Social Media and Audience Development, Playboy

4:50pm
Passion, Food and TV



Participants:
Theresa Albert (@theresaalbert) - President, My Friend in Food

5:00pm
Taxing Times on Twitter



Participants:
Chelsea Marti (@TTaxChels) - Manager, PR & Social Media, Intuit

5:10pm
Tweeting About Taxes



Participants:
Jessica Orquina (@JAOrquina) - Public Affairs Specialist, e-Communications and Marketing Branch, Internal Revenue Service

5:20pm
We are Visible



Participants:
Carey Fuller (@careyfuller)
Mark Horvath (@hardlynormal) - Advocate for the Homeless and Humanitarian

5:35pm
The State of NOW in Music: Evolution of Music Videos



Participants:
Jeff Keni Pulver (@jeffpulver)
Steve Greenberg (@steviegpro) - CEO & Founder, S-Curve Records
Yoni Bloch (@yonibloch) - Music Artist and founder of Interlude

5:50pm
Enjoyable Moments



Participants:
Peter Davison (@OurManinSH) - Founder, Our Man in Shanghai

6:00pm
Psychic Reading Time



Participants:
Monte Farber (@AskMonte) - Psychic, best-selling author of 45 books on ESP, Astrology, Tarot & Love. 2,000,000 books in print in 14 languages

6:10pm
Closing Remarks


Participants:
Jeff Keni Pulver (@jeffpulver) - founder, #140conf

6:15pm
End of Day 1



7:30pm
#140conf NYC 2011 Cocktail Party / Networking at LQ (511 Lexington Avenue, NY NY)





* schedule subject to change without notice